Thinking Pink: How Blogging Can Find A Cure For Cancer

As everyone is probably aware, October is breast cancer awareness month and Donah at sweetjellybean.com has been campaigning to raise awareness in the blogging world. After an overwhelming response, she has come up with a new plan, but more of that later on in this post…

My Pink Finds

I LOVE pink! And I am also a huge supporter of Cancer Research UK, so I always sport my crusade pin on my coat. This week I have had a trip to the Cancer Research Charity Shop and took a photo of their pink display, as well as finding the limited edition Lucozade pink lemonade!

Pink goodies at the Cancer Research shop

Pink Lemonade from Lucozade

So What Can You Do?

One in three people will be affected by cancer in their lifetime, but many more lives will be touched by the illness indirectly. Cancer Research UK is the world’s leading charity dedicated to beating cancer through research. Massive advances have been made in the diagnosis and treatment of cancer and this wouldn’t be possible without the support of fundraisers.

Donah has made the decision to organise what is possibly the first blog driven fundraising campaign Blog and Raise It.

This campaign is asking bloggers worldwide to get together and help find a cure for cancer. There are two ways you can get involved with the campaign, the first is by going to our fundraising page and making a donation. Any donation is welcomed so no matter how small the amount, the difference makes is invaluable.

The second way you can get involved is simple by shopping! Yes, you heard me right, all you have to do it treat yourself to something from Wishtrend and 5% of your sale will go directly to Cancer Research UK. Wishtrend is a Korean company who distribute Korean beauty and make-up around the world. Donah regularly reviews their products on her blog, so be sure to have a look at her reviews and decide what products to add to your basket (it even gives you a chance to get ahead with your Christmas shopping!) and I also reviewed the Skin79 BB cream.

As a sign of appreciation for your support, Wishtrend are offering everyone who takes part in the campaign free global shipping. All you have to do to take part is enter the code BCASJB at the checkout to get your free delivery and 5% of your order total will go to Cancer Research.

Why I am taking part

When Donah asked me to take part in her campaign I was incredibly honoured and jumped at the opportunity. Sadly, I come from a family where cancer is practically in the DNA. I have seen relatives suffer at the hands of the disease from as young as 17 years old. Last year I lost my Nanna as a result of lung cancer, which is a loss that has really stuck with me and is one that I don’t think I will ever get over. My Nanna’s death has really inspired me to get involved in a lot of things that I know she would be proud of and she impacted on my life (both in life and death) more than anyone else that I know. One of the things that has really shaped my life is my love of reading which is something that I inherited from her. Because of my Nanna, it was massively important that I got involved in this campaign in every way possibly, so when Donah asked me to be the UK Fundraising Coordinator I knew that I couldn’t turn it down.

One other experience I have had of cancer that I want to share with you is that of a young girl that I volunteer with. She is only six years old and is currently having chemotherapy for a brain tumour. On the outside, she looks just like any other six-year-old girl, but she has to miss weeks of school due to the illness and has to avoid even the common cold as her immune system is useless. This is the youngest cancer victim I have ever met and it really brings it home that cancer doesn’t discriminate between age, gender or race.

However, I have also seen the positive side of Cancer Research, as I was part of the first intake of girls to receive the HPV vaccination against the viruses that cause cervical cancer. These developments may seem small, but may wipe out this type of cancer in a few generations and this wouldn’t be possible without the constant hard work of Cancer Research and the support of the thousands of donations made to the charity.

A few years ago I took part in the Race for Life, which was an absolutely fantastic and inspiring day. Seeing hundreds of women running for both the victims and survivors of cancer shows just how many people this disease touches.

For all of these reasons and many more beside, I have made the decision to support Donah’s fantastic campaign and I am appealing my followers and supporters to help too. My dream is that, possibly not in my lifetime but in that of my children’s and grandchildren’s lifetimes, there will be a cure for cancer. Please help in whatever little way you can, even if it is just giving 50p or £1, it will make all the difference and is definitely going to a worthy cause.

Me on a very rainy day in 2010 waiting to start the Race for Life. Thank you for your support.

5 thoughts on “Thinking Pink: How Blogging Can Find A Cure For Cancer

  1. Hannah, I can’t thank you enough for sharing our fundraising here and for sharing your story when it comes to beating cancer. I’m very touched with your enthusiasm and thank you very much for being such an amazing supporter. I do hope that we can encourage more bloggers to join in. Once again, thank you very much. Have a great Sunday! xx Donah

  2. Hi,
    May I say that this is your best post ever Hannah- clearly this means lots to you and it shines out in your writing.

    My husband had cancer three and a half years ago. He is cured! We are lucky we know. Often people say to him he is in remission- he is not, he is cured- it has gone there is no trace! Cancer is not as scary an illness as it used to be, people can get well again. There are some side effects from the treatment he had- chemo and radiotherapy, but he is living a full and completely normal life. I know for some people the diagnosis and treatment comes too late so please see your doctor with any concerns. My stepbrother had cancer over 20 years ago and he too is living a full and happy life. Please don’t be scared to see your GP.

    Thanks for highlighting this campaign and good luck with your fund raising.

    • Thank you for your comment. It is a cause that really means a lot to me and I was very eager to get involved and share my story when Donah gave this this wonderful opportunity. I’m glad to hear that your husband has made a recovery. The advances in cancer treatment are definitely making it a less scary disease. It is such a vital message that people see a doctor if that have any concerns – thank you for sharing it. Thank you for your support.

  3. Pingback: What’s New, Hot, and Not!: November Blog Updates | Sweetjellybean.com: Beauty, DIYs, Mom.ents

Leave a Reply

