Inspirations…

As you know, I shared the opening scene of my first novel with you all a couple of weeks ago. I had been debating whether or not to share it on my blog for some time, but after the fantastic response I got, I wish I had done it sooner! It is still being viewed this long after I posted it and has had 246 views (which makes it my second most viewed post) in just this short space of time!

Firstly, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to read my post, especially those that commented with their constructive points – your time ideas have been noted and will be taken on board! Because of the overwhelming response, I have felt motivated to pick up my pen again and start redrafting the scenes I have written, as well as writing new scenes.

One comment that really inspired me was from J. L. Dyer who said (I hope he/she doesn’t mind being quoted!) “Isn’t October such an inspiring month to be creative?” In all honesty, I can’t say that I had thought of October as an inspiring month – for me it brings the stress of a new academic year and a mountain of reading! However, inspired by J. L.’s comment, I grabbed my camera and decided to make it an inspiring month!

I studied photography at A-Level and absolutely fell in love with it, but since I started university my camera had sadly been collecting dust. So this comment not only inspired my writing but also my photography!

I live opposite a dene (a very very small wood!) which I often used to play in when I was growing up, so I decided that taking some snaps that I can have close to hand when I am writing is sure to be beneficial! Here are a few of my favourite photos from my trip:

I risked life and limb for these pictures (well…I was chased by a dog) but they were definitely worth it! Out of 100+ photos I narrowed it down to 22 to print. These ones I will keep to hand and use as inspiration when I am describing the forest in my story (and when I am writing a story for uni which is also set in a wood…I obviously grew up reading too many fairy tales!)

I am hoping to repeat my photo shoot once the leaves turn slightly more autumnal, but these have certainly offered me the inspiration that I needed!

I have also felt inspired in the run up to November, which is National Novel Writing Month (NatNoWriMo). I have decided to take the plunge and set myself a target word count to have achieved by the end of the month (gulp). As this is my first attempt at novel writing I found it difficult deciding how many words I should aim for. Ultimately I settled on 40,000, which is half of the rough total I have set for my novel. I am slightly worried as I have a lot of university work to do in November which includes reading, as well as writing two essays. However, I am going to try my hardest to achieve this goal, and hopefully snippets of my work will be shared with you throughout the month!

I’d love to hear what inspires my readers in their creativeness – anything from story writing to crafts or even writing your blog! Feel free to comment below so we can inspire each other!

11 thoughts on “Inspirations…

      • I’ll let you know if I spot a day when they are about as I am only just North of you- had a quick look at your novel just now- stopped when I saw it was about trees as I am planning my post for tomorrow and it will be on trees, which we saw on our trip- don’t want to risk reading yours and inadvertently copying- will then come back to yours after!
        I recently re read a book I’d read donkeys years ago and was horrified to realise that some ideas which I had thought were mine actually came from the book the reading of which predated my ideas. So easily done at a subconscious level!

      • Ooh please do! I would love to get some lovely photos to add to my inspiration board! Although I’m not a fan of spiders, their webs are pretty when the circumstances are right! I know what you mean! So often we pick things up without even realising it! I suppose a lot of it can’t be helped and I certainly wouldn’t hold it against you! I’ll keep an eye out for your post!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update #1 | hannahackroyd

Leave a Reply

